Brahms Serenade No. 2

Amtrak Metro Collection


Conductor: Steven Smith

Date/Time   Location
Sunday  Oct. 13   3:00 PM     Randolph-Macon College
Get tickets HERE

Steven Smith, conductor

Intimate concerts, up close and personal, at Randolph-Macon College! Join Music Director Steven Smith for a season of musical journeys designed to introduce you to both new orchestral favorites and time-tested treats - starting with Brahms Serenade No. 2!

Barber   Medea, Op. 23 (original version)  
Bernard Rands    

Madrigali (after Monteverdi/Berio)

                I. for Dominic Muldowney

                II. for Jonty Harrison

                III. for Vivienne Olive

                IV. for Vic Hoyland

                V. for Roger Marsh 

Serenade No. 2 in A major, Opus 16

                I. Allegro moderato

                II. Scherzo: Vivace

                III. Adagio non troppo

                IV. Quasi menuetto

                V. Rondo: Allegro 


BEHIND THE MUSIC: Old becomes new! Bernard Rands puts a new cloak around a madrigal from centuries earlier and Samuel Barber casts the ancient myth of Medea into a vibrant ballet score.


Preview our full 2013-2014 Season here.

Become a Richmond Symphony Subscriber today!

« Back to Performances