Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, August 10, 2017
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians David Lemelin, clarinet
    Magdalena Adamek, piano
  • FINZI Five Bagatelles for Clarinet and Piano, Opus 23
    I. Prelude
    II. Romance
    III. Carol
    IV. Forlana
    V. Fughetta
  • STANFORD Sonata for Clarinet and Piano, Opus 129
    I. Allegro Moderato
    II. Caoine: Adagio (quasi
  • BRIDGE 3 Miniature Pastorales
    I. Allegretto con moto
    II. Tempo di valse
    III. Allegretto ben moderato
  • HOROWITZ Sonatina
    I. Allegro calmato
    II. Lento, quasi andante
    III. Con brio

This concert features clarinettist David Lemelin and pianist Magdalena Adamek performing pieces by Gerald Finzi, Charles Villiers Stanford, Frank Bridge and Joseph Horowitz. The 2017 Summer Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music, and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music, and is made up of six casual, one-hour evening concerts featuring the theme of The Flower of England: From the Empire Through the Wars.

Tickets are $18 for Adults and $12 for Children under 18 and College Students. Cash bar available. 

Save 10% off single tickets with a Summer Sampler subscription of 3+ concerts.