Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, July 19, 2018
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians HyoJoo Uh, viola
    Magdalena Adamek, piano
  • Bruch Romance for Viola and Piano, Op. 85
  • Brahms Sonata no. 2 for Viola and Piano in E-flat major, Op. 120
  • C. Schumann Notturno from Soirees Musicales, Op. 6
  • R. Schumann Märchenbilder, Op. 113

The Summer Recital Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music. The series was created as a way to showcase the talents of the professional musicians associated with these institutions. This year’s theme, Stories in Music: The World of Robert Schumann exposes the intrigue and complexity of German composer Robert Schumann. These six casual concerts take place on Thursday evenings at 6:30pm in the Dominion Energy Center’s Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse; each concert is approximately an hour long. A cash bar is available both before and after the performance.  These concerts often sell out, so get your tickets early!