Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, July 21, 2016
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians Mary Boodell, flute
    Russell Wilson, piano
  • Cui Scherzetto
  • Sofia Gubaidulina Sounds of the Forest
    Allegro Rustico
  • Rachmaninoff Vocalise (arranged for flute and piano)
  • Rachmaninoff Études-Tableaux Op. 39, No. 1 in C Minor and No. 2 in A Minor
  • Prokofiev Flute Sonata

This concert features flutist Mary Boodell and pianist Russell Wilson performing pieces by Cui, Gubaidulina, Rachmaninoff, and Prokofiev. The Summer Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music, and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music, and is made up of six casual, one-hour evening concerts featuring the music of Sergei Rachmaninoff and other Russian composers.

Tickets are $20 for Adults (includes drink voucher) and $12 for Children under 18 and College Students (no drink voucher).

Save 10% off single tickets with a Summer Sampler subscription of 3+ concerts.

Learn more about Mary Boodell

Learn more about Russell Wilson