Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, August 11, 2016
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians Shawn Welk, oboe and English horn
    Magdalena Adamek, piano
  • Asaf'ev Sonatina for Oboe and Piano
  • Dranishnikova Poem
  • Rachmaninoff Moments musicaux, Opus 16, No. 3
  • Rachmaninoff Two Pieces, Opus 2 (adapted for English horn)
  • Prokofiev "Montagues and Capulets" from Ten Pieces from Romeo and Juliet, Opus 75
  • Luft Concertino Brillant, Opus 5 (arranged for oboe and piano)

This concert features Shawn Welk (Oboe & English Horn) and pianist Magdalena Adamek performing pieces by Asaf’ev, Dranishnikova, Rachmaninoff, Prokofiev, and Luft. The Summer Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music, and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music, and is made up of six casual, one-hour evening concerts featuring the music of Sergei Rachmaninoff and other Russian composers.

Tickets are $20 for Adults (includes drink voucher) and $12 for Children under 18 and College Students (no drink voucher).