Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Saturday, November 10, 2018
  • Time 8:00 pm
  • Venue Carpenter Theatre
  • Conductor Steven Smith
  • Guest Artist Richmond Symphony Chorus
    Darren Stokes, bass-baritone
    Martha Guth, soprano

  • Barber Adagio for Strings
  • Butterworth The Banks of Green Willow
  • Brahms A German Requiem, Opus 45

Join the Richmond Symphony and Richmond Symphony Chorus, with Music Director Steven Smith, in commemorating the 100th year anniversary of Armistice 1918. This memorable Altria Masterworks program features Brahms’ Ein Deutsches Requiem, Op. 45, Barber’s Adagio for Strings and Butterworth’s The Banks of Green Willow. 

The dark, unusually low registers lend an air of reverence and contemplation to Brahm’s Requiem.  In the words of Clara Schumann, “It is a truly tremendous piece of art which moves the entire being in a way little else does.”

Barber’s Adagio for Strings is a serious piece of music that is firmly embedded in the consciousness of nearly every American. Composer William Schumann gives a wonderfully concise listening guide: “[Adagio for Strings] is so precise emotionally. It begins, it reaches its climax, it makes its point, and it goes away.”

George Butterworth wrote his The Banks of Green Willow before World War I even started, but it is seen as emblematic of the “lost generation” from that war, and is often played to commemorate it.

Program Notes

Learn more about Steven Smith, conductor.

Learn more about Darren K. Stokes, bass-baritone.

Learn more about Martha Guth, soprano.

Rennolds Memorial Concert

Series Sponsor

Concert Sponsor

Media Sponsor