Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Sunday, October 7, 2018
  • Time 3:00 pm
  • Venue Blackwell Auditorium at Randolph-Macon College
  • Conductor Steven Smith
  • Mozart Overture to the Abduction from the Seraglio
  • Fazil Say Symphonic Dances
  • Ives Hymn - Largo Cantabile
    Country Band March
  • Haydn Symphony No. 88 in G Major
  • Series 2018-19 Metro Collection

Enjoy classical music in an intimate setting. Metro concerts feature smaller scale works from the classical repertoire and newer pieces by contemporary composers. Richmond Symphony musicians are often featured soloists. The opening Metro Collection performance will feature classics from Mozart and Haydn. Mozart’s Overture  to The Abduction from Seraglio, features Turkish instrumental themes in the dynamic opening to the most successful opera of his lifetime.

The classical works are complimented by modernist pieces from American composer Charles Ives and contemporary Turkish pianist Fazil Say. Say’s Symphonic Dances are strongly influenced by his Turkish roots. In the spirit of Liszt, Rachmaninoff and Bartók, Say has often incorporated the dance music of his homeland into his chamber music.

Learn more about Steven Smith, conductor

Program Notes