Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, July 28, 2016
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians Molly Sharp, viola
    Charles Staples, piano
  • Glinka Viola Sonata, Movement I. Allegro moderato
  • Shostakovich Viola Sonata, Opus 147
  • Rachmaninoff Etude-tableau in E-flat Minor, Opus 39, No. 5
  • Scriabin Etude in D-sharp Minor, Opus 8, No. 12
  • Lera Auerbach Postlude for Viola and Piano

This concert features violist Molly Sharp and pianist Charles Staples performing pieces by Glinka, Shostakovich, Scriabin, Auerbach, and Rachmaninoff. The Summer Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music, and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music, and is made up of six casual, one-hour evening concerts featuring the music of Sergei Rachmaninoff and other Russian composers.

Tickets are $20 for Adults (includes drink voucher) and $12 for Children under 18 and College Students (no drink voucher).

Save 10% off single tickets with a Summer Sampler subscription of 3+ concerts.

Learn more about Molly Sharp

Learn more about Charles Staples