Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, July 11, 2019
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians Ron Crutcher, Cello
    Joanne Kong, Piano
  • Alvin Singleton Argoru II for Solo Cello
  • Philip Glass Etude No. 2
    Etude No. 12
  • Barber Sonata for Cello and Piano, Opus 6
       I. Allegro ma non troppo
       II. Adagio
       III. Allegro appassionato
  • Gershwin (transcr. by Stone) Prelude No. 2

The Summer Recital Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music. The series was created as a way to showcase the talents of the professional musicians associated with these institutions.

This year’s theme, Exploring America, features American composers and the diverse range of musical voices that make up the American classical music canon. These six casual concerts take place on Thursday evenings at 6:30pm in the Dominion Energy Center’s Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse; each concert is approximately an hour long. A cash bar is available both before and after the performance.  These concerts often sell out, so get your tickets early!


Learn more about Ron Crutcher, Cello.

Learn more about Joanne Kong, Pianist.