Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Thursday, August 1, 2019
  • Time 6:30 pm
  • Venue Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse
  • Musicians Sara Reese, Clarinet
    Aleksandr Haskin, Flute
    Yin Zheng, Piano
  • Bernstein Sonata for Clarinet and Piano
       I. Grazioso
       II. Andantino – Vivace e leggiero

  • Muczynski Time Pieces
  • Lowell Liebermann Sonata for Flute and Piano, Opus 23
       I. Lento con rubato
       II. Presto energico
  • Samuel Zyman Sonata for Flute and Piano
       I. Allegro Assai
       II. Lento e molto espressivo
       III. Presto
  • Jennifer Higdon Dash

The Summer Recital Series is a collaboration among the Richmond Symphony, the University of Richmond Department of Music and VCU | School of the Arts | Department of Music. The series was created as a way to showcase the talents of the professional musicians associated with these institutions. This year’s theme, Exploring America, features American composers and the diverse range of musical voices that make up the American classical music canon. These six casual concerts take place on Thursday evenings at 6:30pm in the Dominion Energy Center’s Libby S. Gottwald Playhouse; each concert is approximately an hour long. A cash bar is available both before and after the performance.  These concerts often sell out, so get your tickets early!


Learn more about Aleksandr Haskin, Flute.

Learn more about Yin Zheng, Piano.

Learn more about Sara Reese, Clarinet.