Loading Events

Event Information

« View All Events

Performance Details

  • Date Saturday, December 8, 2018
  • Time 7:30 pm
  • Venue Carpenter Theatre
  • Conductor Chia-Hsuan Lin
  • Guest Artist Richmond Symphony Chorus
  • Handel Messiah
  • Part One 1. Sinfonia
    2. Arioso: Comfort ye, my people (tenor)
    3. Air: Ev'ry valley shall be exalted (tenor)
    4. Chorus: And the glory of the Lord
    5. Recitative: Thus saith the Lord (bass)
    6. Air: But who may abide the day of his coming? (alto)
    7. Chorus: And he shall purify
    8. Recitative: Behold, a virgin shall conceive (alto)
    9. Air and Chorus: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion (alto and chorus)
    10. Arioso: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth (bass)
    11. Air: The people that walked in darkness (bass)
    12. Chorus: For unto us a child is born
    13. Pifa (Pastoral Symphony)
    14a. Recitative: There were shepherds abiding in the field (soprano)
    14b. Recitative: And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them (soprano)
    15. Recitative: And the angel said unto them (soprano)
    16. Recitative: And suddenly there was with the angel (soprano)
    17. Chorus: Glory to God
    18. Air: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (soprano)
    19. Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind (alto)
    20. Air: He shall feed his flock (alto)
    Air: Come unto Him, all ye that labor (soprano)
    21. Chorus: His yoke is easy, and His burthen is light
  • Part Two 22. Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God
    23. Air: He was despised (alto)
    24. Chorus: Surely he hath borne our griefs
    25. Chorus: And with his stripes we are healed
    26. Chorus: All we like sheep have gone astray
    27. Recitative: All they that see Him laugh him to scorn (tenor)
    28. Chorus: He trusted in God
    29. Recitative: Thy rebuke hath broken His heart (tenor)
    30. Arioso: Behold, and see if there be any sorrow (tenor)
    31. Recitative: He was cut off out of the land of the living (tenor)
    32. Air: But thou didst not leave his soul in hell (tenor)
    33. Chorus: Lift up your heads, O ye gates!
    36. Air: Thou art gone up on high (alto)
    38. Air: How beautiful are the feet of them (soprano)
    40. Air: Why do the nations so furiously rage together? (bass)
    41. Chorus: Let us break their bonds asunder
    42. Recitative: He that dwelleth in Heaven (tenor)
    43. Air: Thou shalt break them with a rod of iron (tenor)
    44. Chorus: Hallelujah
  • Part Three 45. Air: I know that my redeemer liveth (soprano)
    46. Chorus: Since by man came death
    47. Recitative: Behold, I tell you a mystery (bass)
    48. Air: The trumpet shall sound (bass)
    53. Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb that was slain/Blessing and honor/Amen

Don’t miss the Richmond Symphony and Richmond Symphony Chorus performing Handel’s masterwork, a holiday classic that has delighted Richmonders for generations.

Chia-Hsuan Lin, conductor  and Jack & Mary Ann Frable Associate Conductor Chair
Erin R. Freeman, Director of the Richmond Symphony Chorus and James Erb Choral Chair
Clara Rottsolk, soprano
Jessica Renfro, mezzo-soprano
Cameo Humes, tenor
Calvin Griffin, bass-baritone
Jonathan Moyer, harpsichord



Concert Sponsor